Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I have been sitting on this post for a little while, and I apologize. It took some time and many trips to Sally’s, for Lauren and I to get the Finger Paints flakie collection in our hands. I wanted to create a point of reference to see how the various flakies work with other colour families. I only tested :

    • Asylum – red and blue flakes that shift to orange, yellow, green and purple
    • Flecked – green-blue flakes
    • Motley – blue flakes, with a bit of purple
    • Twisted – a rainbow of flakes, a bit of everything

There was one more polish in this collection, Flashy, that was not included in this test; for since it is a dupe of Sally Hansen’s Hidden Treasure, which I already have.

Most people know that these flakies look so awesome over black, but I wanted to see what kind of effects they would have over other colours. I tried to use colours that are easy to get a hold of.

My testing started with:

    • American Apparel – Hassid
    • American Apparel – Cotton
    • China Glaze – For Audrey
    • Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure – I Pink I Can
    • OPI – Suzi Says Feng Shui

On to the swatches!

the original colours, no flash

no flash, all swatches have 2 coats of flakies, and top coat

Cotton

no flash – twisted, motley, flecked, asylum

flash – twisted, motley, flecked, asylum

For Audrey

no flash – twisted, motley, flecked, asylum

flash – twisted, motley, flecked, asylum

I Pink I Can

no flash – twisted, motley, flecked, asylum

flash – twisted, motley, flecked, asylum

Suzi Says Feng Shui

 no flash – asylum, flecked, motley, twisted

flash – twisted, motley, flecked, asylum

Hassid

 no flash – asylum, flecked, motley, twisted

flash – asylum, flecked, motley, twisted

So, you may notice that for every colour, there was one flakie that looked especially awesome.

      • Cotton – Asylum
      • For Audrey – Flecked
      • I Pink I Can – Twisted
      • Suzi Says Feng Shui – Twisted
      • Hassid – ALL OF THEM!

Then I noticed that Motley didn’t really POP on any colour other than Hassid (a black). So I kept trying…

This time I used: Orly – LemonadeMilani – HD, and China Glaze – Channelesque

original colours

no flash – motley

flash – motley

Out of these three colours, Motley looked best on Channelesque. The blue flecks really popped!

If you can get your hands on these flakies (or already have), they are definitely fun to play around with. It is a bit of trial and error to figure out which colours make the flakes really pop, but totally worth the effort!

Loren

