Tags

, , , , ,

Morning!

Today I have a review of China Glaze Stone Cold.  This polish was part of the China Glaze Hunger Games Collection.  I only purchased three polishes from this set; Argo and Smoke and Ashes being the other two.  I knew that this polish was going to be matte and I was really looking forward to wearing it.  Unfortunately it did not work out the way I wanted it to.

2 coats with China Glaze Stone Cold:

This polish dries fast so you have to work quickly.  Most mattes are similar in this sense and for some reason I just could not handle it and applied the polish very poorly.  Other than some OPI Suedes that I have (untried mind you) this is one of the first matte polishes that I have used.  When I want the matte look I usually apply Essie’s Matte About You over a regular nail polish.  Because of this I was pretty unfamiliar with how quickly matte polishes dry.

Speaking of the OPI Suede Collection, I wanted to do a comparison between Stone Cold and OPI Suzi Skis in the Pyrenees Suede because it looked pretty similar.

Index and Ring: China Glaze Stone Cold; Middle and Pinky: OPI Suzi Skis in the Pyrenees Suede

While they are similar the are not Lacquer Look-a-Likes.  They are both charcoal but Stone Cold is much darker.

Overall I didn’t like it as much as I thought I would.  It just didn’t look good on my hand.  While the formula was easy to work with you have to work quickly as it dries faster than most non-matte polishes.  Matte polishes are really great when you need to throw something on your nails but you don’t have a lot of time.

What do you think? Did you like the China Glaze Hunger Games Collection?  I have also never watched the movie, is it worth it to see? Tell me what you think.

Lauren

