Tags

, , ,

Butter London’s No More Waity, Katie (NMWK from here on in) was one of the first higher end nail polishes that I purchased.  The name of the polish is in reference to the nickname that Kate got in the British media for being with William for such a long time with no proposal.  I did get caught up in the excitement last year that surrounded the Royal Wedding and wore it on their wedding day.  I should have been on top of things and posted this on Sunday which was the one year anniversary.  I totally forgot until my sister Kate reminded me that a review should have been done.  So here it is.

There are not many days that I can remember what nail polish I was wearing.  I change my nail polish pretty frequently so unless it was a memorable day for me there is not really much chance of remembering.   At this point I know what I was wearing on my wedding day, my honeymoon and April 29th, 2011.

As I was planning my own wedding last year I was kind of into weddings and got up really early before work to see what her dress looked like.  I was also especially concerned with what nail polish she would wear on the day of.  I secretly hoped that Kate (err, Catherine) would wear NMWK on her wedding day.  I should have known that she would not wear that colour but it was still fun to hope.

She ended up going with a custom made polish that contained multiple different polishes.  In the nail polish world we call this a franken, like Frankenstein 🙂 .   All the information that I could get on it was that it contained Bourjois Rose Lounge 28, Essie Allure and some other colours.  It was created to match her skin tone to create a sort of nude nail or “your nails but better” look.

But enough of the history lesson and on to the polish.

I went to apply NMWK on Sunday night and I was having huge issues.  It was really gooey and hard to work with.  I didn’t remember it being this difficult when I wore it last year and I was worried that it was done for.  However polish doesn’t really go bad, unlike other makeup, it just experiences changes in formula since it is loaded with chemicals.  I had just recently purchased some nail polish thinner, in an attempt to fix another colour I found at a dusty, and I wanted to try it out.  I was a little nervous about ruining it by making it too thin.  So I just added a few drops at a time and shook it up until it was back to a better consistency.

3 coats of Butter London NMWK indoors w/o flash:

3 coats of Butter London NMWK indoors w/flash

This is a really difficult polish to clean up; to be honest most glitters are.  I didn’t do a horrible job of applying it but when I went to clean up the acetone it didn’t make a difference.  It was like the glitter just started expanding.  I think I found one of the glitter pieces on my husband’s face later that evening. 🙂  So sorry about the glitter everywhere in the pictures.  Other than that I really like the nail polish.  I think it is a nice colour even though it was a little difficult to apply.  Butter London calls this a greige with lilac glitter, but I feel like the base is purple too and I don’t see any beige anywhere.

This use to be a limited edition polish but as of their Fall 2011 collection it has been made permanent.

What do you think?  Did you buy into the hype of the wedding last year?

Lauren

