Tags

, , , , ,

Happy Friday!

Any plans for the weekend?  It’s my birthday today and I am doing a lunch with my friends tomorrow and I’m really looking forward to it!  All you can eat sushi and thai food…nom, nom, nom!

I usually get pretty spoiled for my birthday and this year was no exception.  Not only did my husband get me some makeup brushes but he surprised me with OPI RAINFOREST! Insane!  I have been looking for this polish for some time now and I am thrilled that I finally have it in my collection.  There is a little bit of confusion surrounding OPI Rainforest, when it was released and the mysterious X- Collection.  Let me get to the swatches first and then I’ll explain what I mean after. 🙂

OPI Rainforest 3 coats outdoors w/o flash

I have to admit that this polish was a little tricky to apply.  It needed 3 coats and is a little brush stroke-y.  I also thought it would be more emerald as well.  I really love it, don’t get me wrong, but sometimes when you lust after something for years it doesn’t always live up to your expectations. That being said I’m not giving this bad boy up for anything.

As I mentioned above there is a little bit of confusion surrounding when this polish was actually released.  From all that I can find on the internet it seems like it could be a part of 2 collections.  Behind door #1 is the “X Collection.”  The X Collection is a collection where all of the polish codes on the bottom begin with an X and includes a whole bunch of awesome greens and blues like Real Teal, Creme de Menthe, Rainforest and Stone Washed Jeans.  These puppies are old; rumor is they are from the late 1980s.  More information can be found here.  Behind door #2 is information that another blog got from OPI saying that Rainforest was released in 2005 as part of Color Centric Collection.  I can’t find information about that anywhere and I would say there is decent amount of documentation regarding OPI collections and release dates beginning from about 2001-2002 onwards.  So it seems a little funny to me.  To read more about that you can go here.  Personally, I say there is a mysterious door #3 that we need to look behind.  From what I can tell from the bottle it resembles other bottles that I have that were released in 2001.  I compared it to Bikini Envy which was released in the 2001 collection Beach Party.

Biniki Envy and Rainforest

The front and the back are the same however the label on the bottom is different which really just confuses the hell out of me.  I think that my bottle of Rainforest was released/produced around 2001.  And I’m sticking to that story.  Regardless of when it was released it is an awesome colour.  I do wonder how it would look over black.  If I eventually give that a go I’ll take a few pictures and let you guys know how it turns out.

One final thing, I will leave you with my most favourite thing to listen to on my birthday but you have to click –> here.

Thanks for reading and I hope you have a great weekend!

Lauren

