Tags

, , , , ,

Another day passes, another review of one of the new polishes part of China Glaze’s Summer Neons collection.

Orange You Hot? is something very outside my norm and comfort zone. Out of my stash of over 400 polishes, I currently have only 23 orange polishes. But, within that 23 polishes most fall into the peach or coral category, so I have very few bright oranges (the only ones that come to mind are China Glaze Japanese Koi or MAC Imperial Flower). So when I saw this polish I thought “Why not?” and I was easily able to justify my purchase.

indoors, no flash

indoors, flash

These pictures are using Nail Tek as a base coat, 3 coats of Orange You Hot?, 1 coat OPI Top Coat, and 1 coat Seche Vite. In real life, the orange of this polish is a bit warmer, and a bit less yellow toned, but unfortunately it’s kinda gloomy out, so I had to work with artificial light, and my camera did not like that. Also, in real life, even after 3 coats, there is just a bit of visible nail line.

This polish was not fun to work with. It was goopy, and a bit awkward to apply, plus it left bubbles on some nails. Not an attractive look. I hope thinning the polish before I use it next will correct both issues, but for a brand new polish, I would rather not have to “fix” things during the first mani. This polish, like others in the collection, dries to a satin finish, but oddly, this colour took much longer to dry than the others I reviewed. Also, I felt this colour makes my hands look more yellowed, which I don’t necessarily like. That being said, if I had an awesome tan, this colour may work very well, but I am really pale now, so I will have to try this again in the summer.

Regardless, Orange You Hot? is pretty, just not my cup of tea. It looks lit from within, just like the other in the Summer Neon collection, and is perfect for the summer.

Loren

