Tags

, , , , ,

I hope you are having a good week so far.  I’m taking a few days off from work so today is like my Friday! I’m going away with my husband to go on a wine tour and I’m really excited.

Today I have a review of Urban Decay Supercurl Curling Mascara.  I picked this up a Sephora a little while back.  Some claims that I pulled from the Sephora website: In addition to holding curl all day, this mascara boasts incredible conditioning ingredients in its formula. Packed with glycoprotein for lash thickening, Moringa seeds to help with curl definition, and Meadowfoam seed oil and Shea Butter for moisturizing and smoothing, lashes get an extra nourishing boost with just one swipe.

2 coats of Urban Decay SuperCurl Curling Mascara:

No Mascara:

Ingredients:
Aqua (Water), Cera Alba (Beeswax), Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Stearic Acid, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax, Butylene Glycol, Polyisobutene, Silica, Cetyl Alcohol, Diisostearoyl Trimethylolpropane Siloxy Silicate, Triethanolamine, Ozokerite, Styrene/Acrylates/Ammonium Methacrylate Copolymer, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Moringa Pterygosperma Seed Extract, Yeast Extract, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil, Limnanthes Alba (Meadowfoam) Seed Oil, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter), Glycerin, Tocopheryl Acetate, PVP, Caprylyl Glycol, Phenoxyethanol.

I notice that there is yeast in this mascara.  While yeast is naturally gluten-free there are people who have an issue with yeast and should keep that in mind if deciding to purchase this mascara.

Back to the review.  Okay so what is with the name?  I get it you want us to understand that this is a curling mascara.  Between the word curl that is mentioned twice in the name and the fact that the wand is curved I think many of us understand at first glance that this is a curling mascara.  I have a few issue with some of the claims from this mascara as well.  They note specific ingredients that provide benefits like moisturizing and smoothing but they are very far down on the ingredient list so it makes me wonder how much of a benefit they are actually providing.

Overall I didn’t think that this mascara did a lot for me.  I did not notice any thickening of my lashes nor did it provide a huge amount of curl for me.  In terms of curl I think it did just as much as a mascara that does not have a curved brush.  Personally I don’t think that a mascara with a curved wand makes your lashes more curved than a mascara with a non-curved brush, but that’s just me.  I don’t think I would buy this mascara again.

I bought this at Sephora for $24 CDN.

Lauren

