Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Happy weekend!  This week flew on by.  Probably helped that I was off for the first 2 days of this week!  When you think Wednesday is Monday you know you are in for a good week!  Today I have a full review of Deborah Lippmann’s Run the World (Girls) set.  Finally picked it up when I saw it at the Holt Renfrew a few weeks ago.  Since they are neons they were a little difficult to photograph; even when I took them outside they were showing up too light on my camera.  So please bear with me if some of the pictures are darker and I would only put them in if they are colour accurate.

Bottle Shots and Size Comparison:

As you can see these are mini bottles and only 8mL compared to the regular Deborah Lippmann polishes which are 15mL.  Also when Deborah came out of the e-mail offer it included a matte top coat.  So I will also be showing you what each colour looks like with a matte top coat.

3 coats of I Kissed a Girl w/top coat:

3 coats of I Kissed a Girl w/matte top coat:

I liked I Kissed a Girl a lot.  It is fun, bright and perfect for the summertime.

4 coats of It Girl w/top coat:

I looked HORRIBLE on me so I applied it with white underneath on 2 fingers:

Much better! I would wear this now!

4 coats of It Girl w/matte top coat:

I don’t think I would ever wear it without white underneath; it looks too much like egg yolk.

3 coats of Hollaback Girl w/top coat:

3 coats of Hollaback Girl w/matte top coat:

The Pantone colour of the year!  This reminds me of a juicy orange.

3 coats of Nasty Girl w/top coat:

3 coats of Nasty Girl w/matte top coat:

I wish there wasn’t so much VNL with this colour.  But I love how this colour looks.

3 coats of Party Girl w/top coat:

3 coats of Party Girl w/matte top coat:

More coral based than Hollaback girl.  Still a bright colour.

Overall I really liked this little set.  Let’s face it I’m probably never going to go through all of the polishes in my collection and I don’t need full size bottles of everything.  Even though the bottle and brush was smaller it didn’t give me application problems.  I don’t like It Girl on its own but I think it looks great over a white base.  I wish that Nasty Girl was more opaque but I can get over that and instead use it for a jelly sandwich from time to time.  I’m happy I bought this set and would buy it again.

I purchased this for $48 CDN at Holt Renfrew and you can buy it here on Nail Polish Canada for $48 as well.  I believe however it retails for $45 in the US and on Lippmann’s site.

What do you think? Do you ever purchase mini sets?

Lauren

