Tags

, , , , , ,

Hi there! I hope your week is going well so far.  Today I have a review of a makeup brush that gets quite a bit of use in my daily makeup routine.  I first discovered the MAC 217 brush when I was in MAC one day looking for an eye shadow.  I was looking for a new brush and the SA recommended this brush.  However it wasn’t until I found the wonderful and talented Lisa Eldridge that I actually discovered what this brush could do.  If you have not seen any of Lisa E.’s videos you must go right to her blog and check them out.  I mean it. Go now.

Anyways back to my review of the MAC 217.  I pulled the info for the brush off the MAC website:  For shading or blending of colour or creamy products. This brush has fine, densely packed fibers that are arranged in an oval shape. M·A·C professional brushes are hand-sculpted and assembled using the finest quality materials. They feature wood handles and nickel-plated brass ferrules.

For my daily makeup I use this brush to apply and contour eye shadow.  It really blends out the eye shadow and works great for applying product into the eye socket area.  When I need a more polished look I use another one (yes I have 2) to buff out concealer under my eyes and over any blemishes.  I find that this brush is great for buffing out concealer and really blends it out well.  The dome shape of the bristles really make it flexible I think that this contributes to the ease of use.

It has been pretty difficult to find out information on what type of materials the bristles of this brush are made out of.  From what I gather this is a brush made from animal hair and is not synthetic.  However I also have read that it was made from hair that has been trimmed from animals that are alive.  Knowing that MAC was a cruelty-free company (before they started selling in China) it does surprise me that this brush could be made from natural bristles.

This brush is very expensive ($27.50 CAD) however I think that it is quite a versatile brush and can be used for more than one type application so it is a must for me.

What do you think?  Do you use makeup brushes? Would you spend this much on a brush? Would you avoid this brush because it is made from natural hair?

Lauren

