Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today I have a review for of laura mercier Secret Camouflage in SC-1.

I was first exposed to this product via the very talented Lisa Eldridge when I saw it in one of her makeup tutorials.  I have been looking for the perfect colours in both a concealer and foundation for some time.  I felt like I had a breakthrough with Secret Camouflage since I could combine the colours to make a colour to match me.  I only used this to cover up blemishes as I use a light-reflective concealer for my dark circles.  I really hesitated buying this for months but I finally took the plunge a few weeks back.  Now for some pictures and the review:

Box and packaging

Brand new

After a couple of uses

Swatches and the colours blended (with flash)

Ingredients: Diethylene Glycol, Diethylhexanoate/Diisononanoate, Paraffin, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Octyldodecanol, Ethylhexyl Isononanoate, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax (Candelilla Cera), Polymethyl Methacrylate, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax (Cera Carnauba), Phenoxyethanol, Glyceryl Stearate, Tocopherol, Isopropyl Myristate, Oleth-10, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Water (Aqua), Silica, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Honey Extract (Mel), Potassium Sorbate, Hexylene Glycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tetrapeptide-14, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Mica (CI 77019). May Contain (+/-): Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007).

What I Like:

  • There are 2 colours for customizable coverage
  • Nice packaging
  • Portable and easy to use on the go

What I Don’t Like:

  • Hard to get product out of the package
  • Difficult to apply
  • Colours did not work for me

Overall did this live up to my hopes and expectations? In short, no.  This is a wax based product so you do have to warm it up a bit on the back of your hand before application.  I found it very difficult to remove the product from the package.  I didn’t want to dig into the product with the back of a makeup brush for fear of wasting the product.  However I never got enough when using my fingers so I would always have to keep going back for more.  Finally the end of the day the colours aren’t right for me either so this is a pass.  I might have put up with more if the colours worked for me since I typically have a hard time finding products that match my skin tone.

I purchased this at Sephora for $35 CDN.

What do you think? Have you ever tried this product? Do you use concealer on a daily basis?

Lauren

