Tags

, , , , , , ,

Hi there! I hope your week got off to a great start.  Today I have a review of Essie Leading Lady from the Winter 2013 Collection.  According to creator Essie Weingarten this collection was inspired by none other than the British Royals but more specifically Queen Elizabeth and Kate Middleton.  Check out the article from InStyle to get more information and see the rest of the collection.

Truth be told I have a thing for red glitter nail polish.  I already have a few all red glitters (China Glaze Ruby Pumps, China Glaze Ring in the Red, Zoya Sarah, OPI Smitten with Mittens etc) and with the recent purchase of Leading Lady I now have ANOTHER all red glitter.  Let’s take a look at the newest addition to my collection.

3 coats of Essie Leading Lady topped with Cult Nails Wicked Fast:

Essie Leading Lady is a stunning red glitter with a lot of depth and sparkle.  It has a red glitter that is suspended in a red jelly base.  The pieces of glitter are square, very small and almost transparent.

There have been claims that this is very similar to a long ago discontinued colour by Essie called Ruby Slippers.  I don’t have to own it (I want to!) but I have seen some comparisons.  It seems like the formula is pretty much the same however when compared side by side Leading Lady tends to lean more raspberry than Ruby Slippers and has different colours in the glitter.  Check out this post from Polish Schmolish to see more pictures.

What do you think?  Do you like glitter polish?  Did you pick up anything from this collection?

Lauren

